Year 4 PhD – October 2012

Ticking along. Conference paper accepted with amendments which are done, one more bit of data collection to do, then gung ho into analysis. Had planned to do a half hour of coding each day while away in Spain. Ha! That so did not happen.

Had an insight today, have been struggling to progress with the coding, really not enjoying doing it. But have realised that it is not the coding that I don’t like, it is doing it on the computer. Even though I am very technologically literate, and do everything in the computer, online diaries etc., I much prefer doing the analysis and coding on paper – that is what I did to write that first paper. I have spent heaps of time learning Nvivo, so will not discount using it completely, but at the moment I am printing the data out of Nvivo, coding by hand and I actually am finding it much more interseting and enjoyable. No idea why, but will go with it!

Latest animal pic… Madrid Zoo, inside the lemur enclosure – for the bargain price of $3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *